Apple carrot quick bread with coconut oil [recipe]

Last night I was searching for a carrot cake type quick bread to use up the bag of baby carrots in the fridge and came across a recipe from a blogger I’ve been following for awhile now, Averie.Β Her recipe substitutes coconut oil for butter to make for a slightly healthier bread.

FullSizeRender (69)

In keeping with the latest trend, I had recently bought a jar of coconut oil from Trader Joe’s. I never planned on using it for cooking because I’m not a huge coconut fan but instead used it forΒ my hair and skin (which by the way, works wonders! If you haven’t tried it for beauty purposes, I highly recommend it).

So when I stumbled across Averie’s recipe, I figured it would be a perfect way to test baking with coconut oil. I was really skeptical and honestly didn’t have high expectations at all for the bread. But as soon as I licked the batter from the bowl, I knew I was in for a treat. It tasted EXACTLY like carrot cake batter. I could hardly wait for it to come out of the oven! An added bonus was the delicious aroma that spread through my apartment. Nothing like the smells of apple and cinnamon on a rainy evening.

FullSizeRender (67)

FullSizeRender (68)

Apple carrot quick bread

Recipe originally on Averie Cooks.

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted in liquid form
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • grated carrots (I used about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 medium apple, diced

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Mix together the first 7 ingredients (through cinnamon) in a large bowl. Then stir in flour, baking powder and baking soda.

3. Fold in the grated carrots and diced apple.*

4. Pour batter in a greased loaf pan and bake 30 minutes or until golden brown on the top and cooked through.

5. Enjoy it warm right out of the oven!

*Averie’s recipe calls for grated apple. However, I either have a very cheap grater or absolutely no arm strength because I could not grate the apple for the life of me! I like the way the diced apple added chunks of yumminess though. πŸ™‚

FullSizeRender (73)

FullSizeRender (72)

FullSizeRender (74)

The bread turned out so delicious despite my initial concerns. I cannot taste the difference in using coconut oil vs. butter at all. It’s just like carrot cake but heartier and less sweet. I imagine this will be perfect in the afternoons with a cup of warm coffee!

FullSizeRender (75)

5 thoughts on “Apple carrot quick bread with coconut oil [recipe]

Leave a Reply

