Homemade Oreos [recipe]

IMG_6636

My dad’s favorite cookie is Oreos. Especially if they’re dipped in chocolate. So, in honor of Father’s Day yesterday, I decided to try my hand at making a homemade version of the snack cookie specially for my papa.

The recipe I decided to use from Mommy’s Kitchen called for coconut oil. And if you all read my last post, you know that I finally lost my coconut oil-cooking virginity and had tremendous success! I was very excited to be able to use coconut oil as a substitute for regular oil or butter again. It’s quickly becoming one of my favorite ingredients!

Also, as evidenced by the picture below… the primary reason I bake is so I have an excuse to eat the batter. I mean, we can’t let the extra dough go to waste right?? That would just be irresponsible πŸ˜‰

IMG_6692

These little cookie sandwiches turned out so delicious! They weren’t crunchy like Oreos but if you really want that crunch, I’m sure making your cookies flatter/smaller would make them crispier. I liked the chewy dough though and the filling… OH YES. So sweet and rich and just the perfect complement to the dark chocolate cookie.

My dad’s review: “Even better than Oreos!”

And that’s saying a lot coming from him. Try this recipe out for yourself. I think you will be pleasantly surprised! And while they may not taste exactly like the cookies in the blue bag you love so much, I’m pretty confident they will win a spot in your recipe box. A perfect, easy homemade dessert to take you right back to your childhood.

IMG_6637

 

Homemade Oreos

Original recipe from Mommy’s Kitchen

Ingredients:

IMG_6688

For the cookies…

  • 1 box devil’s food cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (liquid)

*For the filling…

  • 1/2 8 oz. package neufchatel or cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 2Β cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 1Β tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Mix cake mix, eggs and oil together. Roll the dough into small balls. Place on greased cookie sheet and press into circles. (I followed the blog instructions and used a drinking glass to press down the dough. Note: I would spray the bottom of the glass before doing this to avoid the dough getting stuck!)

IMG_6687

IMG_6683

3. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes, remove from sheet and let cool.

IMG_6691

IMG_6686

4. Cream the neufchatel cheese and butter together; then fold in confectioner’s sugar and vanilla extract. Spread the filling on one cookie then press another of similar size on top.

 

IMG_6684

5. Let the cookies and filling firm up in the fridge, and enjoy!

*The original recipe calls for 1 8 oz. package of cream cheese and 1 stick of butter. However, this made way too much filling, at least for me! I cut it in half for this variation but feel free to double it if you enjoy the creamy inside πŸ™‚

IMG_6638

Have you ever tried to make homemade Oreos before?

What’s your favorite Oreo flavor?

And most importantly, how do you eat your Oreos?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Homemade Oreos [recipe]

Leave a Reply

