Cinnamon roll oatmeal muffins [gluten free recipe]

IMG_7157

If there’s one thing I’m really bad at, it’s cooking oatmeal. I don’t care what I do, I can never get it right.

I’m the girl who always makes a mess in the microwave at work because my bowl overflowed. It seems that no matter how big or small my oats to water to bowl size ratio is, I can’t win!

But the problem is I love oatmeal. I just can’t cook it.

So I was very excited to come across this recipe at Crazy for Crust that involves baking oatmeal in a muffin tin for easy, on-the-go oatmeal “cups”. Perhaps I can’t use a microwave or a stove top, but I can definitely use an oven. Problem solved!

IMG_7174

These little muffins are perfect for a mid-morning snack at the office and even more perfect that I can just grab one or two as I run out the door in the morning. They’re delicious without being too sweet and a good way to add some fiber and protein to my day.

I did adapt this recipe to my own liking. Β I didn’t make the icing drizzle (probably what gives it the real cinnamon roll taste) because I don’t like my oatmeal too sweet. Instead I just sprinkled on some powdered sugar. It worked for me but if you have a big sweet tooth, definitely try out theΒ frosting.

PS… I also found that toasting two halves with melted butter is PHENOMENAL. πŸ™‚

IMG_7173

IMG_7653

Cinnamon roll oatmeal muffins

Adapted from this recipe at Crazy for Crust

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup natural applesauce
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 TBSP vanilla extract
  • 1 TBSP cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 cups quick oats
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Stir first 6 ingredients together until combined in large bowl. Then add in oats and milk.

3. Pour batter into greased muffin tin, filling each cup about 3/4 of the way. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until set.

4. Remove, let cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar. These would also be good with peanut butter or honey drizzled over top. Enjoy!

IMG_7654

IMG_7172

IMG_7655

IMG_7135

IMG_7158

One thought on “Cinnamon roll oatmeal muffins [gluten free recipe]

Leave a Reply

