Healthy chocolate zucchini bread [recipe]

IMG_8026

When I was a kid, we often went to the farmer’s market on summer Saturday mornings and my mom would always let me pick out a carton of fresh zucchini. That green veggie ended up not only on the grill for supper but, even more importantly, in a delicious loaf of zucchini bread courtesy of my mama!

The best thing about using zucchini in baking is that, because it is so mild, you can add any flavor or mix-ins to it. Zucchini banana bread? Check. Cinnamon raisin zucchini muffins? Check. Zucchini pancakes? Check. And, in my case, double chocolate zucchini bread!

I found this “healthier” version of chocolate zucchini bread over at Ambitious Kitchen and no lie, it tastes exactly like chocolate cake. Chewy, moist and flavorful. It is so tasty and the addition of chocolate chips just makes it that much better. I’ve been snacking on it at the office all week and I’ll be sad to eat my last piece this afternoon!

The original recipe calls for muffins but I baked it in a bread pan as I tend to like loaves over muffins because I can adjust my serving size. Hint: this would be AMAZING with cream cheese icing or a powdered sugar topping! Although I guess that defeats the whole “healthy” label. Then it really would be just cake! :p

IMG_8253

Healthy chocolate zucchini bread

*Original recipe from Ambitious Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 TBSP coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 egg
  • 1 medium zucchini, shredded
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup almond milk

Head over to her site for the instructions and whip up a delicious batch of muffins or, in my case, a delicious loaf of cake bread! 🙂

IMG_8029

IMG_8028

2 thoughts on “Healthy chocolate zucchini bread [recipe]

Leave a Reply

