Homemade funfetti cupcakes with Greek yogurt icing [recipe]

*First things first… my favorite thing about these cupcakes is that the icing uses Chobani plain Greek yogurt, making it a delicious healthier option. Check out #madewithchobani and Chobani’s website for more healthy yummy recipes using yogurt. It is such a handy substitute for so many recipes!

IMG_0228

Growing up, the best part about my birthday was baking cupcakes with my mom to take to school. And, like most kids, my favorite cupcake flavor was Funfetti, with the bright colors and loads of extra sprinkles.

Now I’m an adult but my childhood tastes really haven’t changed. I’m not embarrassed to admit I still think Funfetti cupcakes are the best cupcakes. I’ll pass on all the fancy new flavors you see at boutique cupcake shops. Just hand me the Pilsbury box and a jar of rainbow jimmies!

While the 8 year old in me still loves Funfetti, the 24 year old in me wanted to try to recreate that box mix at home. So with the help of this amazing recipe from How Sweet It Is, I attempted and succeeded! These cupcakes taste EXACTLY like the box mix. Maybe even better if that’s possible.

The recipe is really simple and you probably already have all of the ingredients already in your pantry. One thing I learned in making these is that you definitely need to fill each cupcake wrapper only 2/3 of the way….otherwise your cupcakes are going to grow too much in the oven and create the mushroom effect like mine did! Of course they still tasted delicious and the abnormal shape in no way stopped me from eating them all 🙂

IMG_0229

I didn’t use the icing recipe from How Sweet It Is because I wanted to try something that I’ve seen all over Pinterest lately: Greek yogurt icing. I ALWAYS have Greek yogurt in the frig and figured this would be a fun way to add a little protein (and nutritious value!) to my cupcakes. Whip it up with some powdered sugar and sprinkles and voila, healthier Funfetti icing!

IMG_0467

IMG_0468

IMG_0190

Homemade Funfetti cupcakes with Greek yogurt icing

*Original cupcake recipe from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients (cupcakes):

  • 1 stick of butter, softened (1/2 cup)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • Sprinkles!

Ingredients (icing):

  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • Sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream butter and sugar together; then add eggs and vanilla. Stir in all dry ingredients and the milk. Gently fold in the sprinkles (I used about 1/4 of a cup). Pour into a greased cupcake tin, or use wrappers, and remember to fill only 2/3 of the way. Bake about 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Remove and let cool.

For the icing… whip together Greek yogurt and powdered sugar. Slowly stir in sprinkles (add as many or as little as you’d like). Ice the cupcakes only when they are completely cool or you will end up with a drippy mess! Store in the refrigerator to let the icing set.

Enjoy!

IMG_0220

IMG_0223

IMG_0230

Leave a Reply

