Gluten free, skinny peanut butter brownies [recipe]

My latest baking obsession is oat flour. Ever since I learned you can make your own using the food processor, I’ve been kind of addicted. It’s just such an easy way to sneak some whole grains into your baking… I’m all for using pastry or all-purpose flour on the reg but sometimes a girl likes to satisfy her sweet tooth with something she can call healthy because hey, it’s made with oats πŸ˜‰

IMG_0904

So when I came across this peanut butter brownie recipe using oat flour from one of my favorite bloggers Sally’s Baking Addiction (another local Baltimore girl by the way!), I knew it was a must-try.

And the best part? You just throw all the ingredients in the blender and you’re done. Easy-peasy. Exactly the kind of recipe I like.

Plus it’s brownies. With peanut butter. What could go wrong?? It’s like the two best things on earth combined into one dessert.

FullSizeRender (6)

Not surprisingly, these brownies turned out amazing… even my boyfriend said they were the fudgiest (that’s a word right?) brownies he’s ever had. They stayed all delicious and chewy for Β the couple of days they lasted in my apartment and you can’t tell that they are gluten and butter free!

I used crunchy peanut butter because in the never-ending debate of crunchy vs. creamy, I will take crunchy EVERY SINGLE DAY. But Sally uses creamy in hers so I’m sure it would taste fine. Just not as good as crunchy, sorry. I also used plain Greek yogurt instead of vanilla which made the brownies a little less sweet. I like that though… sometimes, even for me, brownies can be too sweet. These were the perfect balance.

Of course, my mom was sure to point out that these brownies have a hit of protein with the peanut butter and Greek yogurt. Between that and the oats, I think they’re basically a super health food πŸ˜‰

IMG_0912

Gluten-free, peanut butter brownies

*Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (I use Chobani!)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Put all of the ingredients except for the peanut butterΒ into your blender. Blend until smooth (it will be really thin, that’s normal!).

Pour into greased 8×8 baking pan. Microwave the peanut butter for about 30 seconds and swirl into the batter.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until set. Like Sally says, these are VERY fudgy so let them cool completely before you even attempt to cut them.

Enjoy!

IMG_0906

IMG_0907

IMG_0908

IMG_0910

One thought on “Gluten free, skinny peanut butter brownies [recipe]

Leave a Reply

